Dental treatment under anaesthetic: The alternative for patients with an innate fear of dental practices

Around ten per cent of Germans suffer from a phobia of medium to high severity when it comes to visiting the dentist. These figures tally with our experience. We offer alternatives to the conventional treatment procedures, to ensure that you have well cared-for, healthy teeth despite your fear of visiting the dentist.

  • We offer in-depth preparatory discussions. Not in the dentist’s chair, but in the office. An opportunity to ask questions often provides an effective means of addressing your fear of the dentist.
  • Does your phobia about visiting the dentist stem from a fear of helplessness in the dentist’s chair or of pain? Both of these fears are fully understandable – and in both cases we can help you to feel at ease and relaxed.
  • If you want to feel at ease but without the use of anaesthetics: homeopathic treatments and hypnosis help many patients to overcome their fear of the dentist. We collaborate closely with a natural health professional in this area.
  • For some patients with a fear of the dentist, the most attractive option is to simply sleep through their dental treatment. This is no problem: before the treatment, we sedate you to induce a gentle twilight sleep so that you will be totally oblivious to the treatment.
  • Treatment under general anaesthetic (endotracheal anaesthesia or ITN) is also possible. This form of treatment is suitable not only for patients with a fear of the dentist, but for all patients who find major dental surgery too stressful.
  • For patients wishing to combine several items of treatment, a general anaesthetic is an effective alternative to a local anaesthetic. A general anaesthetic is appropriate when dental implants are to be fitted at several points in the jaw in a single session, for example.

All operations under general anaesthetic are carried out in our in-house operating section. Beds are also available to enable our patients to stay overnight under surveillance. Our team of anaesthetists attend to our patients who are afraid of dental treatment before, during and after the operation and monitor the patient’s condition to ensure that everything goes smoothly throughout the operation under anaesthetic.

Dental treatment under general anaesthetic: The operating wing at the Praxisklinik Clinic rooms: An anaesthetist attends to patients with a fear of dental treatment while they are under general anaesthetic and as they come round after their treatment.

Our dental treatment under anaesthetic consulting service: informations for patients with fear of dental practices

Dental practices under general anaesthetics off many advantages for patients with innate fear of dental practices. Your personal benefits depend on your individual treatment concept. As various treatment options often apply, our anaesthetics consultation service offers personal advice without any obligations on your part. Please let us know, if you require an impartial second opinion on any dentistry issue. Please arrange an appointment by calling us on (+49) (0)208/75 13 05 or send us an e-mail.

Narkose-Behandlung beim Zahnarzt: Alternative für Angstpatienten

Etwa zehn Prozent der Deutschen haben eine mittlere bis schwere Phobie beim Zahnarztbesuch: Sie leiden unter Zahnarztangst. Wir können diese Zahlen bestätigen. Und weil wir möchten, dass Sie trotz einer Zahnarztangst gepflegte, gesunde Zähne haben, bieten wir Ihnen Alternativen zur herkömmlichen Behandlung.

  • Wir bieten Ihnen ausführliche Gespräche zur Vorbereitung. Nicht im Zahnarztstuhl, sondern im Büro. Sie können Ihre Fragen stellen und dadurch schon oft Ihrer Zahnarztangst begegnen.
  • Sind Sie Angstpatient, weil Sie Angst vor dem Ausgeliefertsein haben oder weil Sie Schmerzen fürchten? Beides ist sehr verständlich – und in beiden Fällen können wir Ihnen helfen, dass Sie sich sicher und entspannt fühlen.
  • Wenn Sie sich sicher fühlen wollen, aber keine Narkose möchten: Homöopathische Behandlungen helfen ebenso wie Hypnose vielen Patienten über die Zahnarztangst hinweg. Wir arbeiten dafür eng mit einem Heilpraktiker zusammen.
  • Manche Angstpatienten würden ihre Zahnbehandlung am liebsten durch die Narkose „verschlafen“. Das ist möglich: Wir versetzen Sie vor der Behandlung in einen sanften Dämmerschlaf (Sedierung), bei dem Sie von der Behandlung nichts spüren.
  • Möglich ist auch eine Behandlung in Vollnarkose (auch Intubationsnarkose oder ITN). Diese Form der Behandlung bietet sich nicht nur bei Angstpatienten an, sondern bei allen Patienten, die eine größere Zahnarztbehandlung als zu anstrengend empfinden.
  • Wenn Sie mehrere Behandlungsschritte kombinieren wollen, ist die Voll-Narkose eine sinnvolle Alternative zur örtlichen Betäubung. Geeignet ist die Voll-Narkose zum Beispiel, wenn an mehreren Stellen im Kiefer zeitgleich Zahnimplantate eingesetzt werden sollen.

Alle Narkose-Eingriffe werden im hauseigenen Operationstrakt (OP) durchgeführt. Darüber hinaus stehen für unsere Patienten Klinikbetten zur überwachten Übernachtung zur Verfügung. Unser Anästhesisten-Team betreut unsere Angstpatienten und Patienten mit Zahnarztangst vor, während und nach dem Eingriff und sorgt per Monitorüberwachung für einen fachgerechten Ablauf während der gesamten Operationsdauer unter Narkose.

Zahnarztbehandlung in Vollnarkose: OP-Trakt der Praxisklinik Klinikzimmer: Angstpatienten sind während der Vollnarkose und beim Aufwachen in der Betreuung eines Anästhesisten

Unsere Narkose-Sprechstunde: Informationen für Angstpatienten

Eine Behandlung unter Vollnarkose bietet Angstpatienten viele Vorteile. Da oftmals verschiedene Formen der Narkose für Patienten in Frage kommen, bieten wir Ihnen in unserer Narkose-Sprechstunde eine persönliche, unverbindliche Beratung. Bitte sprechen Sie uns auch an, wenn Sie eine unabhängige zahnärztliche Zweitmeinung benötigen. Termine unter Telefon 0208/75 13 05 oder senden Sie uns eine E-Mail.